Total Pageviews

Saturday, March 31, 2012



We, the pro-people intellectual & social activists of Punjab strongly oppose the attempts by all types of communal fascist forces in Punjab, to sow the seeds of hatred and create communal disharmony amongst different sections of society, on the issue of commuting the death sentence awarded to Balwant Singh Rajoana by a Chandigarh court in the murder case of Beant Singh Ex-CM Punjab & his body guards.

After the death sentence of co-accused Jagtar Singh Hawara in this case was commuted to life imprisonment by Punjab & Haryana High Court, on his appeal, and a large number of democratic and justice loving people called for similar treatment to Balwant Singh Rajoana, there was no legal hitch in deferring the execution of his death sentence by the Central Govt till the decision of mercy petitions filed on his behalf by the President of India. By doing so the painful violent events of 28th March, when a state-wide Bandh was held in Punjab, would have been avoided. But unfortunately it was not done. As a result, the people of Punjab have been thrust in a dangerous situation.

We call upon the people of Punjab, to maintain communal harmony & social cohesion in this trying situation. There are black forces, who are bent upon frustrating the struggles of the people for their lives and livelihood; struggles against social and economic inequalities; struggles against indiscriminate exploitation & expropriation of India’s natural resources and labor power by Indian & foreign capitalists; struggles against thrusting the vast majority of Indian people in extreme poverty, disease, hunger, unemployment, illiteracy and sever state repression. These black forces want to break the unity of the people and entangle them in fratricide. Such anti-people forces must be shunned and defeated. Avoiding all types of provocations, let us move towards strengthening the bonds of mutual love, commonness, harmony and fraternity.


1.                  Prof Waryam Singh Sandhu  - Writer
2.                  Prof Ajmer Singh Aulakh – Writer & Dramatist
3.                  Kewal Dhaliwal – Dramatist
4.                  Prof Jagmohan Singh General Secretary AFDR Punjab
5.                  Dr. Parminder Singh Convener Democratic Front Against Operation Green Hunt Punjab
6.                  Prof A.K.Maleri, Organising Secy AFDR Punjab
7.                  Dr. Harbans Singh Grewal AFDR Punjab
8.                  Prof Baldeep Singh Writer
9.                  Dr. Dharamveer Gandhi
10.             Prof Kamaljeet Singh Educationist
11.             Prof Raminder Singh Educationist
12.             Charanjeet Bhullar Writer & Press person
13.             Attarjeet Kahanikar Writer
14.             Vidhu Shekhar Democratic Rights activist
15.             Baldev Singh Sadaknama Writer
16.             Dr. Surjeet Brar
17.             Mahinder Sathi Poet
18.             Narinder Sharma
19.             Ravi
20.             Col J.S. Brar
21.             Hem Raj Steno Rationalist
22.             Megh Raj Mitter Rationalist
23.             Ram Sawaran Lakhewali Writer & Rationalist
24.             Yash Pal Trade unionist
25.             Yashpal Jhabal – Democratic Rights Activist
26.             Jagseer Jeeda – Writer & Singer
27.             Prof Ajmer
28.             Ajmer Sidhu
29.             Baldev Singh Dhindsa
30.             Deedar Shetra Poet
31.             Prof G.V. Sekhon
32.             Madan Veera – Writer
33.             Lal Singh Kahanikar – Writer
34.             Baldev Singh Azad
35.             Prof Amandeep Talwandi Sabo
36.             Kanwal Jeet Khanna – Inqlabi Kender Punjab
37.             Balwant Makhu Lok Sangram Manch
38.             Talwinder Singh – Janwadi Lekhak Manch
39.             Gurmeet Judge – Writer
40.             Balvir Singh Parwana
41.             Advocate Suman Lata
42.             Advocate Rajneesh K Rana
43.             Lachhaman Singh Sewewala – Punjab Khet Mazdoor Union
44.             Harmesh Malri – Punjab Khet Mazdoor Union
45.             Baru Satwarg – Writer
46.             Joginder Singh Ugrahan – Bharti Kisan Union (Ekta)
47.             Sukhdev Singh Kokri Kalan – Bharti Kisan Union (Ekta)
48.             Jora Singh Nasrali – Punjab Khet Mazdoor Union
49.             Amar Aftab – Writer
50.             Dr. Bhim Inder Singh
51.             Prof Gurbachan Singh Naruana – Educationist
52.             Jaspal Mankhera – Writer
53.             Amit Barnala – Rationalist
54.             Dr. Anup Singh
55.             Dr. Baldev Sahota
56.             Damjeet Darshan
57.             Dharam Pal Upashak – Writer
58.             Advocate Amarjeet Pardesi
59.             Advocate N.K.Jeet – Lok Morcha Punjab
60.             Advocate Sudeep Singh – Lok Morcha Punjab
61.             Advocate Amarjeet Bai – AFDR Punjab
62.             Amolak Singh – General Secy Lok Morcha Punjab
63.             Sukhwant Singh Sekhon – Trade Unionist
64.             Gurdial Singh Bhangal – President Lok Morcha Punjab
65.             Lok Bandhu – Writer
66.             Pushap Lata – Lok Morcha Punjab
67.             Dr. Sardool Singh Grewal – AFDR
68.             Jagmel Singh – Lok Morcha Punjab
69.             Sadhu Ram Kusla – Social Activist, Anti-female feticide crusader
70.             Jagseer Sahota – Trade Unionist
71.             Karora Singh – Trade Unionist
72.             Pirtpal Singh – Social Activist & Democratic Rights Activist
73.             Bhoj Raj Trade Unionist
74.             Narbhinder Singh – Writer & Democratic Rights Activist
75.             Dr. Sahib Singh – Writer
76.             Master Tarlochan Singh Samrala – Dramatist
77.             Pavel Kussa – Youth leader
78.             Harkesh Chaudhari – Dramatist
79.             Shabdeesh – Writer
80.             Anita Shabdeesh – Theater personality
81.             Kasturi Lal – Lok Morcha Punjab
82.             Naunihal Singh – Trustee Desh Bhagat Yadgar Hall Jalandhar
83.             Gurmeet - Desh Bhagat Yadgar Hall Jalandhar
84.             Surinder Dhanjal – Writer
85.             Harsharn Gill Dhido
86.             Hansa Singh – Dramatist
87.             Advocate Rajeev Gondara
88.             Master Krishan Dyal Kussa – Lok Morcha Punjab
89.             Bharat Bhushan
90.             Dr. Lok Raj - Writer
91.             Sukhveer Joga - Writer
92.             Boota Singh – Writer & Democratic Rights Activist
93.             Kehar Sharif – Writer
94.             Narain Dutt – Political Activist
95.             Ranjit Lehra – Editor Lal Parcham
96.             Karam Barast – Writer
97.             Prof Charan Kumar – Educationist
98.             Darshan Singh Koohli
99.             Davinder Toor
100.         Angrej Singh

No comments:

Post a Comment